Coasters

“Coasters” ( Les Coasters) is a feature-length documentary that explores the depths of the Lower North Shore, an isolated region in eastern Quebec, where three communities coexist: Innu, Francophone and Anglophone.

We will discover through a mosaic of characters with diverse realities, that the people of Lower North Shore have much in common, despite their cultural divide and language barrier. They are particularly keen on striving to ensure the sustainability of their community, and to ensure that their way of life is maintained and past on, even in the face of increase migration.

“Coasters” is a journey back in time, a return to a way of life marked by an extraordinary simplicity and community spirit, forced by the isolation of the land. Through a full cycle of seasons, the documentary portrays an unfamiliar reality that may unfortunately be doomed to disappear.

Watch the trailer

Les Coasters

Les Coasters est un long métrage documentaire qui propose une immersion au coeur de la Basse- Côte-Nord, contrée isolée de l’est du Québec, où cohabitent trois communautés : innue, francophone et anglophone.

À travers une mosaïque de personnages aux réalités variées, nous découvrirons que malgré le clivage culturel et la barrière des langues, les populations de la Basse-Côte-Nord ont beaucoup en commun. En particulier le désir de lutter pour offrir une pérennité à leur communauté et pour permettre que leur mode de vie persiste malgré l’exode des régions éloignées.

Les Coasters c’est un voyage dans le temps, un retour à un mode de vie empreint d’une simplicité et d’un esprit de communauté hors du commun, forcés par l’isolement du territoire. Au cours d’un cycle complet des saisons, le film dresse le portrait d’une réalité méconnue et malheureusement peut-être vouée à disparaître.

Visionner la bande annonce